Open air food markets are about as common, if not more so, than regular grocery stores in Liaocheng.  The vendors are usually local farmers and fisherman that truck their products into the city every day.  Though not as sanitary as the food you would buy in a grocery store, it’s always much fresher and most likely more nutritious.  Cheaper too.  Shopping at a grocery store in China is somewhat of a status symbol.

I took this photo at a demolition site in Liaocheng, and afterwards one of the workers there asked me why I wasn’t out taking pictures of Dong Chang Lake or the flower fields just south of the city.  I tried to explain that pictures of derelict scapes and scenes were more interesting to me because they conveyed the other-worldliness of this place better than any bucolic scene could.  He thought I was crazy.

Karaoke is a national obsession in China, where they call it KTV.  Every city has its fair share of KTV joints, usually brightly lit in popping neon lights that could probably be seen from space.  I haven’t had a chance to go into one of these places yet, but it’s one of my goals before leaving China.

It’s common for older gentlemen of leisure to have a song bird that they bring with them to the park to mingle with the other caged birds.  They just drape a cover over the cage, hook them to their bicycles, and head off to the park.

