So I’ve run into a few snags technology wise. The first thing that happened was that Facebook turned out to be blocked in China. Aparrently the People’s Government doesn’t trust the peopleenough to use social networking programs. Now I’m not as addicted to Facebook as some of my fellow college students, but I was using it as a way to notify readers of a new post. You can use something called a proxy to bypass the government blocks, but it doesn’t work wel. I can’tsend messages or anything like that, and I believe that even doing something like this is still technically illegal.

So I could use the wifi at the hostel I stayed at in Bejing, but apparently because my computer has Windows 7 on it I cannot use thenetowrk at my school. I’m writing from right now from the room of Tony, a chinese student who speaks English and was all to eager to help me with my problems. I hope that once I get everything settled I will be able to post more often, but for now there may be a slight lag in the number of posts. In any caseI’m here and well for the most part. My tummy doesn’t like all the MSG I’ve been eating, so I will need to watch what I eat for the next few days. Another Chinese student is coming to my dorm today and will help me buy a cell phone, which will be nice to have. I met a few foriegners in Beijing that teach English in Liaocheng and I’m hoping to run into them later this week so they can show me the ropes. I can’t tell you how comforting it is to know there will be at least a few Americans here. One the teachers Joked that “There are a lot of foriegners moving to Liaocheng. You’re the sixth!” He was kidding of course, but in all reality, out of aschool of 40,000 I’m the only American.

Tony wants to take me out now to meet his friends, which I’m sure will be an adventure. CHinese people, especially those learning English, love to mingle with foriegners. It makes them giddy with excitement. Zai jian! (Goodbye)

